Sidney’s Story

November 7, 2009 at 11:59 am Leave a comment

Sidney foto
Behind the popular images of Brazil, the tropical beaches, soccer and carnival lies another reality, that of desperate poverty. Kids are subject to police brutality, rape, violence, and being forced into prostitution just for food or to stay alive. Brazil’s GDP ranks it as the eighth richest country. Less than one percent of the population owns more than fifty percent while more than fifty percent of the population owns less than one per-cent of the land. Brazil has the greatest disparity between the rich and poor of all countries.

I grew up in the slums with 5 siblings and my parents but my father was an alcoholic and he used to beat us up almost to death. My oldest brother left home when he was 7 years old and my second oldest left home when he was 5 years old because they were both tired of the slums, poverty and the beatings of my father. I left home when I was 11 and I also never came back home and I lived on the streets of Brazil for year but God through YWAM rescued me and God restored my life.

The slums in Brazil is a very sad place to live specially when you are involved in drugs or selling them. I lost many friends because of the drug trafficking and poverty but I am so glad God brought people like Anwar all the way from the U.S.A to work and serve in the slums of Brazil and that’s the reason why I preach the Gospel today. I have been over 20 nations preaching the Gospel and I am so thankful for what Anwar is doing in the biggest and most dangerous slums in Rio de Janeiro.

If you want to read more about my story you can buy my book and also watch a documentary about my life at http://www.rescuedtotell.com and it is in English and we will ship it anywhere you are in the world.
Or you can contact Sidney through email sidneypereira915@gmail.com

 

Sidney

Entry filed under: Street Children. Tags: , , .

Gringolado POV: Anwar Boyce Michael Jackson in the Favela

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Blog Stats

  • 14,376 hits
November 2009
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Top Rated

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

